top of page

Reading Rush 2020

This June 20-26 I participated in the 2020 Reading Rush. It was my second time participating but I was able to do alot more this year.

Overall, it was a successful readathon for me as I fulfilled most of the prompts, participated in virtual events, and even got extra badges (pictured below).

Books I Finished



I LOVED this book! To be honest, I have enjoyed Patricia's youtube & instagram content for a few years now so I hoped I would like it but I didn’t realize I’d love it!


I haven't read self-help in ages & I honestly didn't realize Patricia's book was self-help!

Heart & Hustle is a motivational self-help book to help you strive for your goals & be financially & professionally savy.


Patricia includes anecdotes & autobiographical moments to keep her suggestions withi

n the context of her own experience. As she is in all things she creates, Patricia stays true to herself! She shares her British Nigerian roots & influences on her life.


I listened to the audiobook & enjoyed hearing her share her experiences & advice. I definately recommend this to anyone right now as it will be a bright spot (pun intended).

Patricia includes anecdotes & autobiographical moments to keep her suggestions within the context of her own experience. As she is in all things she creates, Patricia stays true to herself! She shares her British Nigerian roots & influences on her life.


I listened to the audiobook & enjoyed hearing her share her experiences & advice. I definitely recommend this to anyone right now as it will be a bright spot (pun intended).

Prompts (badges to the R of text from top to bottom): read a book in a genre you've always wanted to read more, read a book that takes place on a different continent than where you live, Book you've read completely outside of your house.



Remembrance by Rita Woods

This wonderful book is by an amazing debut author, Rita Woods!


I don't want to say much to avoid spoiling so just know it has 4 characters in different locations and times whose stories intertwine. The locations include: Haiti, New Orleans, and Ohio. The time periods include 1791, 1857, & present day.

This is definitely speculative fiction. Its a combination of historical fiction & contemporary fiction with some magic sprinkled throughout.


I got this book via the February 2020, Adult, Once Upon A Book Club & I LOVED all of the items associated with the story! Stay tuned for a future post on Once Upon A Book Club.

I honestly can't believe this is Rita Woods' debut book! I can't wait for her future books!

Prompt: (Badge to the right of the text: Read the first book you touched)


Quick note:

I read another book this week With the Fire on High by Elizabeth Acevedo. It didn't fit the prompts so i'll make a separate review of the book & author's work soon. For now, here is my review on goodreads.



Review of the reading rush:


Pros

  • It was fun!

  • I enjoyed making a reading rush account on their website, tracking my reading, getting badges, & participating in the discourse chat area.

  • Most of the prompts were crative.

  • I was able to use a book for multiple prompts.


Cons

  • I DID not like that they included a prompt that was about reading outside of your house. We are in a pandemic, it is hard for people to leave their home & they honestly shouldn't. In my case, I have been going to work since June 3 so I completed this challenge by listening to an audiobook on my commute to work & while working.

  • The website did get buggy on my phone so I had to use it on the computer.


Overall I had a great time & I would participate in it again.










bottom of page