top of page

5 2018 Trends & Book Recommendation Pairings

2018 has been a year full of new trends, continued 2017 trends, and the revival of some favorites.

Here are 5 book recommendations paired with 5 of my favorite 2018 trends.

Wix generated illustration of a crystal growth.

In 2018 we saw a continuation of crystals used for wellness, decor, and good vibes. I see a variety of crystals at Marshalls, crystal encrusted accessories at Target, and more that all point to a main stream and commercial use of crystals in addition to the more spiritual use.

If 2018 has been your year of Crystals, then

Book cover for The Four Agreements. It has a green background with four tiles aroudn the text containing plants.

Miguel Ruiz' The Four Agreements: A Practical Guide to Personal Freedom is for you! This book gives you four keys to stop limiting yourself, and get rid of needless suffering and toxicity. The four agreements are: Be Impeccable With Your Word, Don't Take Anything Personally, Don't Make Assumptions, Always Do Your Best.

Wix generated image of a young man wearing a green sweatshirt.

2018 has seen a surge in wearable merch being worn. Influences, celebrities, and even high-end companies are making merch or merch-like clothing that are incorporated into fashion forward outfits or the newer comfortable trend. I think this also falls into the fandom clothing explosion going on right now.

If you have bought merch or fandom clothing this year then Fangirl by

Book cover for thenovel Fangirl. An illustrated Cath sits on the letter a and is typing on her laptop. There is a young man talking to her behind her and she is thinking about Simon & Baz.

Rainbow Rowell is for you. This young adult novel centers on Cath, the ultimate Simon Snow fangirl and fan fiction writer whose world has included the fandom. Now she is off to college and she has to live in a world beyond the fandom and see if she can live her own life. I really loved this book and it has survived many years of collection weeds! If you like this novel, then there will be a whole new world of fiction.

Cacti have been trendy for a few years now but 2018 is the first year I have seen Christmas ornaments, sweatshirts, merch, and stationery depicting cacti. Cactus, Succulents, and other Cacti are beautiful to look at but their naturally prickly defense keeps us at a safe distance.

I went a little metaphorical with this recommendation. I decided to recommend I'll Be Gone in

the Dark: One Woman's Obsessive Search for the Golden State Killer by Michelle McNamara,. Hear me out: this book is my literary cactus. I have looked at it, read about it, learned about how she helped break the case, and oh yeah, she NAMED him the Golden State Killer. It is my cactus because its spines: the true crime nature is dark and sad. Since I followed the newstory I know that they caught him but it will still be a difficult read.

From Nail polish, to clothing, stationery, to linens, 2018 was the year for glitter and sequins. I am a big fan of this trend & am wearing glittery nail polish as I type this!

Among the many covers with shine, glitter, & sequins,

Meg Cabot's The Princess Diaries still stands out. This first volume in the series of the same names focuses on Mia Thermopolis, a regular vegetarian, cat loving, NYC living, teenager who finds out her dad is the crown prince of Genovia and she is now the second in line to the throne. I love this series & gobble up any new book or movie adaptation.

This next trend has been the most me of 2018! Not only are cozy clothing & accessories on trend and in every store, but a cozier lifestyle is very much encouraged. Candles, twinkly lights, mugs, and soft socks are sold in nearly every store. The cartoon to the left is from wix but it does show how i've been since August, living my best fall-wintery life.

Do you like living a cozy life? Then you enjoy aspects of Hygge and follow in Danish

footsteps and I recommend Meik Wiking's The Little Book of Hygge: Danish Secrets to Happy Living. While there are many books out there on Hygge and ways to live the Hygge life, I recommend this one with great information, illustrations, and good ratings on goodreads.

What were your favorite trends of 2018? Do you have any book parings?

Let me know in the comments.

You can always chat with me on twitter @nicolebookish & using #bookishcinephile .

Keep on reading!

**All of these opinions are my own. I was not sponsored to write this post.

bottom of page