top of page

Beat the Backlist 2019

A new year means a new Beat the Backlist challenge!

Last year I read over 20 backlisted books & it was super fun! I didn’t get the points correctly as I didn’t realize it was by publication date & not just by the date you added it to the tbr. I unknowingly made it harder for myself!

Most of the books I have are from 2018 or before so this is the perfect challenge for me!

Here are the guidelines per NovelKnight’s specifications:

  • The book must have been published in 2018 or earlier to count. It can be in any format (including an ARC/eARC) as long as the release date is earlier than 2019.

  • You have to start and finish the book in 2019 to count it. Any books started in 2018 and finished in 2019 do not count. Any books started in 2019 and finish in 2020 also do not count.

  • The challenge runs from January 1, 2019 to December 31, 2019

That is it!!

In my opinion, if goodreads counts a book format as a format, then I do too!

Since 2019 is the first full calendar year of “Nicole the Bookish Cinephile,” I decided to do my TBR post on here! I will be updating my goodreads shelf as I read. I hope to do a few update posts on the challenge throughout the year.

For my overall reading goal, i’m aiming for 70 books in 2019! I know I will tackle many new to me books, tbr books, and 2019 releases.

Here is my backlist wishlist for 2019:

  • Outlander

  • When Dimple Met Rishi

  • Heartless

  • A Court of Thorns and Roses

  • Jane Eyre

  • Wild Beauty

  • Because You Love to Hate Me

  • The Wedding Date

  • Born A Crime

  • Becoming

  • Meet Cute

  • Stalking Jack The Ripper

  • I am Not your Negro

  • Bygone Badass Broads

  • Wilde Like Me

  • This Monstrous Thing

  • The Woman in the Window

  • Exit West

  • Paper Girls Vol. 1

  • To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before

  • This Savage Song

  • The Hazel Wood

  • Throne of Glass

This list is very long because it is my Dreamy TBR of books I would love to read someday….Let’s see if it’ll happen in 2019!

I already read a few this month that count towards the challenge!

As a fun bonus, I am also participating in the Hogwarts Mini-Challenge where I will help my fellow Ravenclaws gain house points.

Every book read is a point for your house! You put in the information in the form on the NovelKnight blog post and then resubmit it with each backlisted book you read.

Stay tuned to my “2019 beat the backlist” goodreads shelf for updates, reviews, and ratings. I also try to update instagram posts of books I have read with their ratings.

Are you joining beat the backlist?

What is your Hogwarts house?

I would love to know your answers so please comment on this post, tweet me, or comment on my latest bookstagram post!

**Beat the Backlist images are from NovelKnight's blog including the "beat the backlist 2019" banner, "beat the backlist" bookstack, and the "Ravenclaw reading challenge" banner.

**Ravenclaw house image is from Pottermore.

bottom of page