top of page

Looking Back On Beat the Backlist 2018

I can’t believe that 2018 is over!

Last year, I had a great time participating in the Beat the Backlist reading challenge.

It is a yearly, year long challenge hosted by NovelKnight where participants tackle their to be read lists & shelves of books that came out in previous years.

Sounds awesome, right!

My to be read list for the challenge was basically my "to be read" shelf on goodreads. However, I did want to finish a few series, read a few that had lived on my tbr for far too long, and stumbled upon a few I wanted to read but hadn't until then.

My starting post was a tweet saying I would participate but I would update my shelf on goodreads most often.

Below is my shelf with all 20 books I read from my backlist in 2018.

Here are some stats, there is some overlap but that makes reading fun:

1 Poetry collection

1 autobiography

1 anthology

1 retelling

1 post colonial work

1 middle grade book

1 space opera

2 superhero works

6 science fiction works

7 graphic novels

7 audiobooks

8 Young Adult Novels

8 fantasy works

8 works with romance

2 Finished Series

16 Diverse works

It was super fun & I had a great time getting points for my team the Book Bards!

Look for my upcoming post on the 2019 beat the backlist challenge!

bottom of page