top of page

Beat the Backlist 2020

Since 2018 i've enjoyed participating in Beat the Backlist. This year long reading challenge was once again created & hosted by NovelKnight & helps you tackle that out-of-control TBR stack.



How do you tackle your TBR? By reading Backlisted books!

What are backlisted books? They are books published before the current year.

For a book to count towards the reading challenge it must:

-Be written in 2019 or before

-Be started & finished in 2020


I have loved participating in this as it gives me a fun way to track my reading of backlisted books & share with a team of fellow readers.


When I joined the challenge, I decided to participate in the optional mini challenge. General Readers don't participate on a team but still enjoy the reading challenge.

In this year's mini-challenge you can pool your pages read (submitted via google form) towards 1 of 4 teams:

The Borrowers! -You’re a borrowing fiend! The Re-Readers! You’re always revisiting stories. The TBR Stackers! You always add a bunch of books to your TBR. The Multi-Taskers! You read multiple books at a time.

I related to all of these team descriptions!


That said, my team is (Drumroll please)...The Borrowers!


I have been participating for a few months now & am loving it!


I definetly recommend you check out NovelKnight's page for their awesome content, this great reading challenge, specifics on how to join, how to participate, photo challenges, bingos, & more!


Are you participating in beat the backlist? Have you in the past?

I'd love some more recommendations for my backlist TBR so feel free to send them!


As always, please feel free to leave a kind comment or tweet me @nicolebookish to keep the conversation going.





bottom of page